amFOSS – first experience

Hello all 🙂

So, finally we have reached the end of our amFOSS workshop, and we were asked to do some tasks. This blog is all about my experience, knowledge that I gained during the process of doing it.

OK so there were 3 sets of tasks given to us 1) easy 2) medium 3) hard. Since I don’t have any previous experience in programming and stuff, I thought of doing easy tasks first. Easy tasks included 1) rock,paper,scissors game and 2) telegram bot using API. So as said started off with “rock, paper, scissors” game and it was a great start. link to my first task. it was a very easy task so now I felt that it might be nice if I start doing the medium task,  the medium tasks are 1) plagiarism checker and 2) shopping cart. So started doing shopping cart task it was easy until TESSERACT came into play, thinking what it is? Python-tesseract is an optical character recognition (OCR) tool for python. That is, it will recognize and “read” the text embedded in images. Pretty simple right, ya execution part is also easy, but downloading it was a bit tricky. I surfed a lot of websites but none of it beared any fruit. Then I tried base64, but even that did not work out. I kept trying, again and again, but unfortunately couldn’t find a solution to the problem.  Then, I left that part and moved on to do the remaining. Thus I successfully completed the shopping cart task as much as i could do. I even tried to do one of the hard tasks, Mail API, but found it hard to establish a link between the mail and python. I did not give up, but rather searched on Google for solutions. I couldnt get a clear picture about it. As the deadline was nearing, I decided to work on the shopping cart task furthermore, as I felt more confident about that task. I did some modifications of my own in the code and successfully ran the code. The link for the shopping cart task is here. As a whole, all these tasks gave me a really good experience and helped me in learning a lot of new things. Thanks to all the seniors for that 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a comment